

VIRUDHUNAGAR DISTRICT / VIRUDHUPATTI

- Birth Place of Kamarajar
- Shri. A. SIVAGANAM I.A.S District Collector
- Bifurcation of Ramanathapuram 1985
- **Ruled by** Pandyas, Vijayanagara, Madurai Nayaks, Carnatic kingdom and British
- **Area** 6.39 Sq.km
- **Population** 72,296
- **River-**Kowsika
- **Soil-** Black and Red
- **Food Crops** Cotton, Chilly, Spices, Cardamom, Paddy, Sugarcane and Millet
- **Mineral** Lime, gypsum
- **Forest** 476.65 sq.km

Boundary:

- Bounded on north by Madurai and Sivagangai district
- South by Tirunelveli and Tuticorin district
- East by Ramanathapuram district
- West by Kerala state and northwest by Theni district
- Administrative headquarter Virudhunagar town
- 3 Revenue divisions
- 10 taluks,

District History:

- In 1910, the District of Ramanathapuram was created for administrative convenience, by carving-out territories from Madurai and Tirunelveli districts.
- After India attained independence, in 1948, the zamins were abolished.

For any queries mail to: tnpscfeedback@shankarias.in



- In 1985, the Ramanathapuram district was trifurcated to create the districts of Ramanathapuram ,Sivaganga and Virudhunagar district.
- This district is divided into 3 Revenue Divisions namely Aruppukottai, Sivakasi and Sattur.
- 10 taluks, namely Aruppukottai, Kariyapatti, Rajapalayam, Sattur, Sivakasi, Srivilliputtur, Tiruchuli, Virudhunagar, Vembakottai and Wathirairuppu.

Popular cities:

- **Srivilliputhur** Palcova, divyadesam dedicated to Andal by periyalvar, under the control of Vallabadeva- Pandya, Thirumalai Nayak, Mangammal and pulithevar
- Megamalai reserved forest Grizzled Giant Squirrel
- **Sivakasi** crackers, Match box and printing industries
- **Rajapalayam** Winter climates, Ayyanar Temple Falls, Mangoes and dog breeds